Bear Rank


Bear Badge Requirements

These are the requirements as they appear
in the 2003 edition of the Bear Handbook (33451).

To see the the changes which were made in 2003, Click Here

To see the OLD requirements (as they appeared in the 1998 edition of theBear Cub Scout Book – #33107), Click Here.

Boys who became Bear Cub Scouts after August 1, 2004, are required to use the requirements below.

To earn the Bear Badge, a Cub Scout must complete 12 achievements out of a possible 24 that are offered in the book. The achievements are grouped in 4 major areas, GOD, COUNTRY, FAMILY, and SELF. Within each group, a required number of achievements must be completed, as indicated below. Also, any achievements that they do NOT use to earn the Bear Badge may be used to earn Arrow Points.

(Note that these achievements, as were the Wolf activities, are primarily done at home and signed off by an adult family member after the boy has completed each one. The book is then shown to the Den Leader who records the progress and also signs the boy’s book.)

The Bear Achievements are as follows, page number references to the Bear Book are in parenthesis.

If the Cub Scout has not previously earned the Bobcat Badge, it must be earned first.